Wellness is a Journey

Some people think good health is a destination – someplace they are trying to get to. But I say it’s a never-ending journey.

I see health and wellness as a continuum. If the left end is poorer health and the right end improved or optimal health, you should be constantly striving to move to the right – no matter where you start out on the continuum.

Some of my clients who have become more aware of improving their health begin reading everything they can get their hands on and quickly get overwhelmed. They think, I should meditate, I need to exercise more, my diet is totally wrong, which supplements should I take? Faced with the ideal of a healthy person, they get discouraged and decide, I could never be truly healthy because I can’t live like that.

Well, good health is a marathon, not a sprint. Don’t try to do it all at once. And never compare yourself to another person. Begin where you are now and measure progress against your own yardstick only. Even one inch closer to the right is a victory!

If you’re looking to get healthier, the first step I’d recommend is to stop any unhealthy habits. This might be smoking, over-indulgence in alcohol, remaining in an abusive relationship, or even an addiction to exercise. Of course that’s easier said than done, but switching to an organic diet isn’t going to cure all your health issues if you’ve still got something like that hanging over your head. Once you remove the habit or habits pushing you toward the left, you can work on moving farther to the right.

So why not make a resolution to quit that bad habit today? Good luck on your journey, and be well!

– Abby

About Abby

I am a fictional literary character. I work as a massage therapist in Ellicott City, MD, and in my spare time I help the local police solve crimes. In my former life I was a corporate lawyer. I graduated from Cornell University, Harvard Law, and the Baltimore School of Massage. To keep fit I run and practice yoga.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

