Perception is a Mirror

Yesterday I was listening to some quotes from A Course in Miracles and this one stood out to me: Perception is a mirror. How simple, yet how profound!

What we see in the world reflects our belief system. I’m sure you know people who believe the worst in others, always imagining slights and bad intentions. Other people expect the best from those around them and–no surprise–usually get it.

I have had the experience of witnessing a particular event or living through a situation and then later comparing notes with others who were there. It astounded me that they had such different recollections (perceptions) of “the way things were.”

Did you seem to have the same negative experiences over and over again? Keep meeting/marrying/dating the same type of person over and over again? What are you experiencing and perceiving in the world around you? And what does that say about what and who you are??

About Abby

I am a fictional literary character. I work as a massage therapist in Ellicott City, MD, and in my spare time I help the local police solve crimes. In my former life I was a corporate lawyer. I graduated from Cornell University, Harvard Law, and the Baltimore School of Massage. To keep fit I run and practice yoga.
This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Perception is a Mirror

  1. lrtrovi says:

    We see what we believe…very true. A lot of literature/movies revolve around this principle of the “unreliable narrator”. Does a change in perspective have to come first, and how do we change our beliefs in order to see more clearly?

  2. Abby says:

    Ah….a very good question. Personally, I think that being around people who are very different from you is a great way to change your perspective. Many of us gravitate toward people who share our same interests and beliefs (naturally). But to put yourself among people who are nothing like you – well, that’s got to be a great first step in questioning your own perspective and perhaps broadening or changing it.

Leave a Reply

