Peeing in the Shower

Yep. You read that correctly. No, it’s not a typo. [NOTE: If you are offended easily, you may want to skip this post.]

It’s kind of a weird practice, and I admit it took me a while before I warmed up to this one, but it was recommended by a couple of sources that I trust.

Although peeing in the shower may seem uncivilized to you, at least hear me out. I’m not suggesting you use the shower as your toilet every time you have the urge to go. Rather, take advantage of your shower time to take a whiz. Here’s why:

It’s environmentally friendly – each time you flush a standard toilet it uses approximately 3 1/2 gallons of clean water. If you pee during your daily shower, you can save about 1,278 gallons of water a year.

It’s sanitary – Urine from a healthy person’s bladder is generally thought to be sterile. In fact, it’s probably cleaner than a lot of other stuff that goes down the shower drain. Pee near the drain and let the falling water wash it away.

English: Taken by me whilst on holiday in Fran...

French toilet: put feet in the wells and squat over the hole. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

It’s easier on your body – You women are probably thinking: sure, easy to do if you’re a man, but what about us? Well ladies, humans were designed to squat when relieving themselves, and in many foreign countries people squat over a hole in the floor. This brings the body into proper alignment. If you have trouble urinating, this position may make things easier.

It saves time – If you are a multi-tasker, this practice will get you out the door just that much sooner in the morning.

So go ahead and try it next time you shower. Just remember to save #2 for the commode.

 

About Abby

I am a fictional literary character. I work as a massage therapist in Ellicott City, MD, and in my spare time I help the local police solve crimes. In my former life I was a corporate lawyer. I graduated from Cornell University, Harvard Law, and the Baltimore School of Massage. To keep fit I run and practice yoga.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

