Easy Recipe: Fruit Fries

This is a fun, nutritious dish to make for children of all ages. It’s based on a yummy recipe (Papaya Smoothie Bowl) I got from the Medical Medium website. Every time I made this, I was amazed how much it looked like ketchup. So I played with the presentation, and here’s what resulted. Isn’t it fun?

It’s super healthy–just fruit! I encourage you to click on the original post (linked above) to read about the ingredients’ health benefits. It would make a great breakfast or snack if you’re trying to get more fruit into your kids’ life.

Here’s how I did it.

1 large papaya (I prefer the Maradol variety)
2 Medjool dates, pits removed
1/2 cup fresh or frozen raspberries
bananas

Remove and discard the papaya’s skin and seeds. Cut it into chunks and place in a blender. Add the next two ingredients and blend until smooth. Peel one banana for each person eating. (Note: the photos above show half a banana on each plate.) Cut each banana in half, then slice the long way into thin strips, approximately the size of French fries. Arrange “fries” on a plate and serve with the papaya “ketchup.”

Tips for success

  • Try to find bananas that are as straight as possible. If there is a curve in it, feel free to cut it cross-wise at the curve and make some shorter fries.
  • Pick bananas that are ripe, but not overly so. Your fries will be too droopy if they are too ripe.
  • If the dates are very hard, soak them in some water for half an hour. Drain the water before adding to the other ingredients.
  • If you are making this for a picky eater who is bothered by textures, you may want to strain out the raspberry seeds.

Have fun with this and enjoy!

 

About Abby

I am a fictional literary character. I work as a massage therapist in Ellicott City, MD, and in my spare time I help the local police solve crimes. In my former life I was a corporate lawyer. I graduated from Cornell University, Harvard Law, and the Baltimore School of Massage. To keep fit I run and practice yoga.
This entry was posted in Nutrition and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

